Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
4

Three (Tips? Links? Suggestions? Things!) for the weekend

+ a mini vlog!
4

Hi there! Happy Friday!

This week was all about fun stuff, alternating with a bit of admin and a lot of website redesign shenanigans.

Gel printing with Emma Carlisle and Harriet Lowther

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it to you before, but towards the end of last year, I started attending Emma Carlisle’s drawing sessions on Patreon.

I do know that I haven’t shared any of the sketches I’ve made before because drawing is meant to be a fun and relaxing activity just for myself.

And I’m not a confident drawer. Meaning: I do it anyway, and sometimes, it turns out well, sometimes not so much.

Anyway, Emma turns out to be a gel printing enthusiast. She invited me to be on a Gelli® plate Zoom recording with her and her friend Harriet Lowther.

The recording is now available to watch on Emma’s Patreon. This means it’s only available for subscribers; however, if you love drawing, I can highly recommend becoming one!

The sketches in the video above are from yesterday’s Cheeky Chickens Birthday Party drawing session!

Mini vlog - Museum MORE

On Wednesday we drove to Ruurlo for a celebratory family gathering and we had a chance to visit Museum MORE in Ruurlo Castle.

It’s a very small museum dedicated to the Dutch Magic realist painter Carel Willink. The dresses by Fong Leng were worn by Willink’s eccentric third wife Mathilde. And on the top floor there is a temporary exhibit by the contemporary ceramicist Koos Buster.

I really enjoyed the contrast between the old castle interior and the hypermodern ceramic art. So fun!

New gel printing video tutorial

I also have a new Gelli Arts® video for you to watch. This one is all about gel printing with LEGO texture plates.

I learned about LEGO letterpress printing a couple of years ago and I’ve been wanting to try it ever since. I still haven’t, however, LEGO is discontinuing the LEGO Dots series, so some of the sets were on sale at the nearest toy shop.

I just had to get some! And then, trying them out on the gel plate was of course a no brainer.

Mind you, you don’t need LEGO Dots to do this. Any arrangement of flat LEGO tile pieces on a base plate will do the trick!

NEST FEST

And then last, but not least, I want to invite you to join me for Roben-Marie Smith’s free online art festival Nest Fest.

The event will run from May 8-19 and the focus is a deep dive into art tools and supplies with a lineup of amazing guest teachers (including me!).

I’ll tell you a bit more about it on Friday (Monday!) however, you can secure your spot now by registering HERE.

OK, that’s it, from me, for now. Have a wonderful weekend!

Marsha.

4 Comments