4

Weekend vlog 25 + 26 February 2023

Utrecht and Amersfoort (un)recommendations
4

Happy Monday!

On Saturday we went shoe shopping in Utrecht. This is not a recommended weekend activity; however, it had already been postponed for too long, so it had to be done.

The difficulty with being on a quest for something is that you need to pay attention. Hence, there is no actual shoe footage in the mini vlog; I just cannot look at all the shoes and record simultaneously.

Anyway. I didn’t find what I was looking for. I did buy two books at Broese. I love this bookstore; however… maybe a little less on a crowded Saturday afternoon.

The first book I got is ‘To the Lighthouse’ by Virginia Woolf. I’ve tried to listen to the audiobook version, but I found it hard to follow. So I plan to play the audiobook and then read along.

[Warning: reviews say that the edition I bought contains errors and typos. If I had realised this before buying, I might have waited until I found another edition elsewhere. However, I’m going to give it a go anyway. I’m guessing it will be OK in combo with the audiobook!]

The other book is ‘Mijn verzonnen familie’ by Dutch author Arthur Japin. The title translates to ‘my made-up family’. At first glance, it’s a huge scrapbook-like book with many photos, documents and illustrations. I know it includes an autobiographical part and passages about Japin’s book characters (often historical figures).

I’ve been eyeing it for a while because there is a small section about his 16th-17th century ancestors, who happen to be my ancestors too, which is just incredibly cool.

We grabbed a bite at Comptoir Libanais (the best idea of the day). There are many, many better places to eat in Utrecht, but we were tired and just wanted to eat. Besides: it reminds us of a city trip to London a couple of years ago, so we love it.

On sunny and windy Sunday, we gave the shoe quest one more try in Amersfoort. It’s good that we did because I found a pair I liked in the first store we entered! Again: no footage because… I just can’t. However, I’m sure you will soon ‘meet’ the shoes in question!

We celebrated the win at one of our favourite spots Brood & Zoets and grabbed some things at the grocery store before heading home again.

The huge boulder is the ‘Amersfoortse Kei’, a landmark that plays a role in a local folktale. The city is nicknamed ‘Keistad’ (Boulder City) after it.

As I understand it, city marketing had knitters send in yarn bomb ideas last year. So I think this ‘sweater vest’ may have been on there for a while now. I just hadn’t seen it before. It features two knitted works after Piet Mondrian in honour of his 150th birthyear.

How was your weekend?

Thanks for reading my vlogletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts (twice-weekly):

4 Comments
Marsha.
Marsha.
Authors
Marsha Valk