Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
1

I'm back!

Scenes from the weekend + art travel kit
1

Happy Monday!

You may not even have noticed I was gone; however, I briefly vanished to trade the gloomy and barely existing spring in the Netherlands for an incredible and sunny holiday in Lisbon, Portugal.

I fully intended to post as 'normal' while I was away. Still, in hindsight, I should have known I wouldn't want to spend any precious holiday time writing and editing. LOL!

Anyway, I'm back. And I was relieved to notice we did not miss all of the Dutch trees blossoming while away!

Friday was all about unpacking and laundry. I also needed to get my almost 1500 (?!) holiday photos and videos uploaded, transferred, and backed up.

Don't worry; I won't try to share all of them with you. Instead, I plan to make a lovely curated selection!

We also went to IKEA and the grocery store for some bits and bobs.

On Saturday, we visited an exhibition of my friend Revlie's vibrant art which turned into an afternoon catching up with another dear friend.

We FINALLY started watching the new season of Ted Lasso!

On Sunday, we visited family. On the way back, I spotted some pink and red tulip fields that I did not want you to miss despite the distance and the rain.

Art Travel Kit

I will share more about Lisbon in upcoming vlog letters; however, I'm sure you're dying to hear what art supplies I packed and if I created anything whilst away.

Well, the answer to the first question is: Yes.

Yes, I packed a Traveler's notebook insert, a selection of coloured pencils, a mechanical pencil, a gel pen, four Tombow markers, a pencil sharpener, an eraser, a roll of washi tape, a temporary adhesive roller and a tiny pair of scissors.

I also brought my bullet journal and two books to read. I am still trying to figure out why because I did not open them during the entire holiday.

I did use the art supplies. However, not in the urban sketching/travel journal/on-the-go way you might envision.

It's just not something I tend to do. Instead, I take lots of photos (and videos) when out and about on holiday, and I usually read books if there is any downtime. Hence the two books I brought. I was expecting to finish both, LOL!

I would be comfortable with not bringing any art supplies. However, I do always write stuff down to plan or to remember. So if I do not bring a notebook, I will have to buy one anyway.

That said, sometimes there is time for sketching. For example, there have been holidays in a more coastal or rural environment where I've sketched more.

I wasn't sure this time, so I packed a modest travel art kit. That I then used to draw one single thing...

It's not that I wasn't inspired to create. On the contrary, I constantly saw incredible things and had many ideas!

But even on the days we tried to rest, I was writing and planning what we would do and visit next instead.

So. Yeah. I will have to channel all of the Lisbon impressions into art made from home, which is totally fine with me!

Thanks for reading my VLOGletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

1 Comment
Marsha.
Marsha.
Authors
Marsha Valk